‘The One’ by Patrick Kavanagh


 

The One

Green, blue, yellow and red-

God is down in the swamps and marshes

Sensational as April and almost incred-

ible the flowering of our catharsis.

A humble scene in a backward place

Where no one important ever looked

The raving flowers looked up in the face

Of the One and the Endless, the Mind that has baulked

The profoundest of mortals. A primrose, a violet,

A violent wild iris- but mostly anonymous performers

Yet an important occasion as the Muse at her toilet

Prepared to inform the local farmers

That beautiful, beautiful, beautiful God

Was breathing His love by a cut-away bog.

Patrick Kavanagh

from Selected Poems, Penguin books, 1996.

One thought on “‘The One’ by Patrick Kavanagh

  1. Lovely Joe, but not my favourite so far, this would be ‘To the Man after the Harrow’ by Patrick Kavanagh

    Joe has previously mentioned that poetry is an excellent subject for meditation and I have found this to be the case. It would be great to hear what take people have on this poem and the work of Patrick Kavanagh. It would also be very nice to see some of other peoples favourite verse or inspirational writings in the comments along with what it means to them. Here are some links to other poems and writings that have appeared as posts or within the postings.

    A beautiful passage from ‘The Dead’ by James Joyce
    https://josephbray.wordpress.com/?s=james+joyce

    ‘To the Man After the Harrow’ By Patrick Kavanagh

    Patrick Kavanagh, Irish Poet

    This was posted to me within the ‘When the Rubber meets the Road’ post which perfectly represented what was happening in my life at the time.

    Shell

    I cannot say I came from nothing
    But so it seemed when the sea
    Began to shape me. How long

    It took is not important.
    Light and dark passed through me.
    Nothing was constant

    But the labouring
    Fingers of the sea
    At their grind of love and making.

    This happened where few
    Would wish to penetrate
    And none could see

    But I received my body there
    And hid within me
    All the voices of my maker

    Singing of his work
    As I lurched and tumbled
    Through the unfathomed dark.

    I bear, I am forever borne.
    I am complete yet I must turn
    And spin with the deep will, a form

    Content to be
    The still, perfect image of the sea
    Or its demented plaything in a storm.

    Brendan Kennelly

Feel like replying? Go for it.....!